Tags

,

I’ve been meaning to get on and “start my own blog” for some time now.  Frankly I’m not sure why “now” is the right time, other than I just decided to create my own account, and start.

That was several days ago.  The fact remains the hardest thing about any thing is simply getting started.

I wanted to make my “first post” something special, but what does THAT mean?  So there I sit with my first bout of blogger’s block.  (I just made that up.)

So I will simply jot down my current vision for this blog, and let the chips fall where they may.

I did not put a lot of thought into my present tagline, other than it was a clever take on Jack Handy.  Well, *I* thought it was clever, and that is all that matters because this is my blog!  I suppose it came to me because my vision for this blog is simply to communicate some random thoughts, which I hope have more depth than rambling idle talk.  It could be about life, God, country, politics, family – anything you might imagine.  It will not be a diary, but some of that will probably sneak in.  I cannot promise any of this will be wise or profound, just that it will be authentically me at the time of the post!  I will not pull any punches, as my expectation is to have adult conversations.

I hope some people might follow along and chime in.  Encourage me, challenge me, or just ride along.

May God bless you with wisdom on your own journey through life as He created it.

Proverbs 8

On this day of George Washington’s birthday, please indulge a quote:

“Let us with caution indulge the supposition, that morality can be maintained without religion.  Whatever may be conceded to the influence of refined education on minds of peculiar structure, reason and experience both forbid us to expect, that national morality can prevail in exclusion of religious principle.”

— George Washington, Farewell address, 1796

